15th Annual Global Wellness Summit Celebrates
Innovators, Visionaries and Thought Leaders

The Global Wellness Summit (GWS), the foremost gathering of international leaders in the multitrillion-dollar global wellness economy, celebrated wellness pioneers and innovators at its 15th annual conference. The 3-day event’s robust agenda, with the theme “A NEW New Era in Health & Wellness” wrapped up last week. If you missed it, the Summit on Demand package is now available!

Each year, the GWS and its advisory board members bestow Global Wellness Awards on individuals who have made a significant and unique contribution to the Summit’s goal of positively shaping the future of wellness worldwide, making the wellness of both the planet and its people central to their personal missions. In addition, the organization runs an annual “Shark Tank of Wellness” competition that grants a total of $10,000 to three student finalists.


Global Wellness Award Recipients

Christine Clinton

The Debra Simon Award for Leader in Furthering Mental Wellness
Presented by GWS Advisory Board Member, C. Victor Brick, on behalf of Lauren Wright, for Clinton’s work in highlighting and advocating for the needs of mental wellness awareness among our children. Clinton chairs the Global Wellness Institute’s (GWI) Wellness for Children Initiative. Upon presenting the award, Brick commented: “This year’s recipient is proof positive that passion and commitment and a heart of gold can change the world.”



Sue Friedland

The Leading Woman in Wellness Award
Sue Friedland co-founded SuperSmartHealth with her late husband, Dr. Danny Friedland. Danny recently passed away after a very public bout with brain cancer, which he and Sue used as a positive learning moment for all in the wellness world, and, more personally, for their two sons. The award was presented by GWS Advisory Board Member, Nicola Finley, MD, with presenting sponsor Natura Bissé International, Inc.



Craig Cogut

The Leader in Sustainability Award
Craig Cogut, founder, chairman and CEO of Pegasus Capital Advisors, was honored with this award for his focus on bringing capital and expertise to businesses that are able to compete successfully while focusing on resource efficiency and sustainability. Cogut deeply believes that we must take immediate and decisive action to stop the effects of climate change.




Karen Moseley

The Leader in Workplace Wellness Award
Karen Moseley is president & CEO of HERO (Health Enhancement Research Organization), a national think tank dedicated to advancing best practices in workplace health and wellbeing. Past recipient and GWI Advisory Board Member, Renee Moorefield said: “Karen has defined for the rest of us, what it means to be an advocate. To fight for what matters and do it with integrity and grace.”



Shark Tank of Wellness
Global Student Competition 

Linxin Lu for Sveet

First place honors ($5,000)
Linxin Lu, from Atlanta, Georgia’s Savannah College of Art and Design, took first place honors ($5,000) for Sveet, a portable saliva test for blood sugar designed in the shape of a fortune cookie for diabetic youth. Lu was supported by Gauri Misra-Deshpande, Professor of Advertising at the Savannah College of Art and Design.





The runners-up each received $2,500 and were Rui Wang, also from Savannah College of Art and Design, who presented Sora, a sleep skylight designed to help with circadian health, and Doan Anh Duong, from Korea’s Dongseo University, whose Immersion Lamp seeks to bring transformative multimedia experiences, including sound, aroma and visuals, to help transport users to spaces of wellness from wherever they may be.

The Shark Tank of Wellness awards were presented by Frank Pitsikalis, founder and CEO of ResortSuite (Canada), and fellow judges Amir Alroy, co-founder of Welltech Ventures (Israel), Karen Ballou, founder & CEO of Immunocologie Skincare (US) and Mia Kyricos, Chief Love Officer of Kyricos & Associates (US)